The official site of the Washington Journalism Education Association

Contact Address
PO Box 24389, Seattle, WA 98124
The official site of the Washington Journalism Education Association

The official site of the Washington Journalism Education Association

Grants & Scholarships

Grants & Scholarships

WJEA offers several opportunities for both students and advisers to attend summer workshop for free or grants for professional development.

WJEA Summer Workshop (Camp) Grant

Come to the WJEA Summer Workshop for free! The purpose of the WJEA Summer Workshop Grant is to invest in student journalists of promise by waiving the fee to attend camp. Judges will consider how the student and his or her scholastic journalism program will benefit as a result of attending the workshop. Financial need is also a strong consideration.


Three grants will be awarded. No more than two grants may be awarded to the same school. The summer workshop is held each year in late July or early August. Your adviser must be a current WJEA member for you to qualify.


Deadline is May 20. Applicants will be notified of their status in early June. Summer Workshop Scholarship Application (fillable PDF)

Adviser Professional Development Grant/Scholarship

WJEA will provide up to $750 for both one inexperienced adviser and for one experienced adviser to attend workshops of their choice during the year.

*Winning advisers must be WJEA members

*Previous recipients may apply again after three years.

*Deadline is February 15. Winners will be announced in the spring.

*The scholarships may be used for conference fees and travel, but not to acquire equipment or classroom materials.

*Interested advisers should download and submit application (fillable PDF) by mail or email to:
WJEA Headquarters • PO Box 24389 • Seattle WA 98124 or [email protected]

Previous recipients

2017 – Teresa Scribner, Cleveland STEM HS
2016- Anna Ferinand, Sedro-Woolley HS, Kathryn Badger, Interlake HS
2014 – Jacob Savishinsky, Aviation HS; Stephanie Keagle, Auburn Mountainview HS; Meghan Delaney, Eastlake HS
2013 –
2012 –
2011 – Christine Roux, Roosevelt HS; Julie Paddock, Suquamish Early College HS
2010 – Sandra Coyer, Puyallup HS; Dean Busching, Brewster HS
2009 – Eddie Reed, Cleveland HS; Krisin Marciochi, Tumwater HS
2008 – Stephanie Keagle, Auburn Mountainview HS
2007 – Laurie Bender, Kamiakin HS; Gay Buissink, Walla Walla HS
2006 – Susan Fergueson, Mount Si; Merrilee Schneider, Arlington
2005 – Dan Hardebeck, Timberline H.S.; Karen Gemeinhart, Cashmere HS
2004- Dana Smith, Sehome HS, Bellingham
2003- Sandra Wilson, Puyallup HS; JoAnn Parr, Spanaway Lake HS
2002- Joy Lessard, Ellensburg HS; Susan Fergueson, Mount Si HS

If you were a recipient prior to 2002, please contact us so that we can update our records.

Activate Search
Grants & Scholarships